I thought that, as my blog posts are somewhat sporadic, it might be a good idea to point any interested readers to some other things I’ve worked on fairly recently, so here are a few links. I was really proud to take part in the Moving Beyond Boundaries project which explored the role of women’s history in the national curriculum, and blogged about teaching a lesson on Georgian women and why I thought the project was important. The plans for all the lessons taught as part of the project are available online, along with links to other resources for teaching women’s history.

Another project I’ve been involved with is a volunteer conservation group working with the Borthwick Institute for Archives to clean architectural plans in the wonderful Atkinson-Brierley collection. I really enjoy working with the conservators and learning about what goes on behind the scenes in the archives, as well as handling the huge range of interesting plans within the collection. My blog on the project talks about the collection and why the plans are being cleaned.

Last for now, but certainly not least, I was lucky to be asked to write some articles on 18th/19th century history which now appear on the British Library’s fantastic Discovering Literature site. The website is another fantastic resource for anyone studying history, so again I was really proud to be a part of it.

And finally, I would like to introduce my research assistant Clio, who joined me in May this year from Yorkshire Cat Rescue. She can be more of a distraction than a muse, and her interest in books in largely restricted to chewing the corners, but she is an awful lot of fun.

catphoto

 

